Eternal

May I climb upon your shoulders just to glimpse beyond the parapet?

Kneel in awe and wonder at the joys not happened yet

Raise a teary eyelid at the things I didn’t get

Then slide back down in hope, a little stronger

 

May I nurse the thrill of Heaven through the days of mediocrity?

Sense a golden future when with eyes of lead I see

Leap and fly in moments from mundane reality

Then stagger through my hours, a little stronger

 

May with pleasures incremental, my encounters come to make more sense?

May I rub along with others, but without the need for self-defence

Disavowing contemplation, find I’m living in the present tense

Then walk my waymarked path, a little stronger

Leave a Reply

