Saviour

I’ve been to the edge of my darkness

And looked over

My toes strangely drawn to the lip

The heady attraction of no more endeavour

Enticing, as forward I tip

My life like an inkblot on pristine paper

Hard edged, indeterminate, stained

Unfathomable, really, and drenched in failure

So little of goodness remained

But Jesus stepped in like a burning force-field

With power to stay and not fall

He showed me the strength of His Love unfailing

So I could endure through it all

He gave me the gift of new gifts uncovered

That I could be more than I knew

And days filled with hope of a soul recovered

His Love making every day new

Leave a Reply

