Only Child

I think with the mind of an only child
Though I was one of six
Cos when it comes to sharing stuff
Like toys and weetabix
I gave myself pre-eminence
As  if first dibs we’re mine
The others could just wait their turn
And watch the princess shine
Devising many subtle ways
To strengthen my position
I felt there was no need ask
For anyone’s permission
The last eclair is mine, I think
The most expensive dress
Befits my standing as the star
Of this family’s success
Oh, only child, how lonely
Is the one who cannot share
The days are long and empty
For a heart that doesn’t care

Leave a Reply

