To the Woods

And I was kissed by sunlight shafts
In wooded glades enchanted
Anemones beneath my feet
As light through branches slanted

A timid wren played hide and seek
As I her peace disturbed
A woodpecker with sharpened beak
Continued unperturbed

A silken egg in upturned palm
Bade mind and thoughts to wander
New life within, a sense of calm
Requires a soul to ponder

Recall for me that gilded hour
Preserve it for reflection
When old, I’ll scent its heady power
In joyful recollection

Leave a Reply

