Youth

I, then, was like the universe, expanding

Reaching the farthest reaches of myself

Each day a mighty leap with a soft landing

Accumulating knowledge, love and wealth

 

There seemed to be no limit to my psyche

I’d constantly extend, and stretch and grow

Contentedly I’d lay my head down nightly

Enchanted by today and tomorrow

 

My wings were then unclipped by disappointment

My tender heart unvisited by grief

I soared to meet the challenges unthwarted

A flaring comet’s tail of self-belief

2 thoughts on “Youth

Leave a Reply

