A Motorist’s Plea

God grant me patience to drive in good spirits

Not jumping lanes and not cursing while waiting

Give me your peace to enjoy tailback traffic

Staying relaxed and not anticipating

Please give me, Father, your calm at the lights

Not counting colours and revving up loudly

Help me not swear at the stalled learner driver

Let me just smile and restrain myself proudly

Let me not tut at old men wearing hats

Certain their driving’s a Sunday disaster

Let me respect their advanced driving knowledge

Not provide signals to make them go faster

Lord grant me love for my travelling companions

Not mouthing curses at those in my way

Let me not treat them as obstacles dithering

Rather as pilgrims on Life’s sweet highway

Leave a Reply

