Ode to Arachnids

I rued my double standards as I de-webbed all my sills

While earlier extolling humble spiders for their skills

At times I laud their artistry, their gossamer and lace

But then I’ll curse a tightly, silken-shrouded carapace

Strung up on fading hollyhock, or linking sunlit reeds

My heart spins breathless raptures at the sight of necklaced beads

If only eight-legged craftsmen knew their place beyond my rooms

I’d be their greatest advocate and never wreck their looms

Arachnids, heed my counsel, when you’re searching for playgrounds

Bedeck my sprawling garden – but my home is out of bounds!

Leave a Reply

