Handbag Detritus

3p off a litre – but only last week

A biro upended that happened to leak

A faded bus ticket from when I went green

A stub for The Hobbit, the last thing we’ve seen

Prescription reminders, a plaster that’s crumpled

My tatty old license, archaic and rumpled

The fabric jam-puckered, a sweet that’s decaying

Destroying the lining now sticky and fraying

Dark corners for debris my fingers avoid

A penalty notice that got me annoyed

My life in a murky capacious melee

I wonder what else I’ll stuff in there today?

Leave a Reply

