Love’s Colander

Like a leaky sieve when it comes to love

I try in fits and starts

To care about the other’s needs

Or reach their aching hearts

With good intentions I emerge

To greet each hopeful day

But soon forgetful, I allow

Self-interest its way

It isn’t always cruel

And at times I’m overcome

By people’s haunted faces

Or the pain that makes them numb

In moments then, I reach a hand

Or share a hopeful word

To build a minute flake of love

That grows from what they’ve heard

And maybe at the end of Time

My sieve will become blocked

By all those tiny flakes of love

Divinely interlocked

Leave a Reply

