Thankful

Beauty is all around us
Beauty is all around us

Thankful

I didn’t know I needed

The small things that lit my day

I woke without a single thought

Except to rush my way

I dressed, I went, I planned en route

Not guessing what delights

You had lined up to make me smile

And lift my weary sights

The greeting smiles, the usefulness

That made me feel alive

The joys of finding long-sought gifts

For which I always strive

The richest fare You placed my way

So much beyond my hopes

My heart was fit to burst it seemed

And climbed its higher slopes

But most of all, yes, more than that

Were feelings long-forgot

Of thankfulness, of wonderment,

Of life, where there was not

Leave a Reply

