Longing

I may not break the cords of your indifference

I may not touch the reaches of your heart

I may not function fully in the way you’d like

Nor play your dreamed of ‘perfect partner’ part

When I reach out you may not always want my touch

Nor find a fascination in my words

To you I may be just the dust of daily life

A phantom breath whose dreams are never heard

But I would be the wind that whips your weary toil

The laughter in the wings of your desire

The sunlight shifting shivers down your resting arms

The tinderbox that sets your heart on fire

If you would turn and see me as I truly am

Unwrap the waiting gift that lies beneath

Then we would sail the sunset of a life transformed

United in a love beyond belief

One thought on “Longing

Leave a Reply

