A World for You

If I could paint a world for you, my child,

I’d fill it with the sparkle of new life

With bursting buds I’d break the frosted ground

And put an end to darkness and to strife

I’d drench your ears with birdsong and your skin

Would tingle with the sunlit warmth of love

I’d draw your heart with fullness, till you know

My peace and tranquil beauty from above

If I could paint a world for you, my child,

Our days in lost abandon we would spend

No thoughts would crowd out wonder and pure joy

And time would never start and never end

Leave a Reply

